Does this make me a hip mama?

24Jul09

A while back, I found this tutorial and thought it looked like something I might be able to handle, so I bookmarked it. We got a diaper bag at our baby shower, but the more I looked at it, the more I thought it would be too big. Let me clarify now that I did register for this diaper bag but it was back when we’d decided to cloth diaper and I figured we would need a larger bag to carry around all the necessities. Over the following weeks, Steve and I discussed it more and I just got the feeling that he’d be more comfortable with using disposables versus cloth. I eventually gave in (although sometimes I still wonder if we’d made the “right” decision…Seth is fine; no diaper rash or anything like that, and we agreed that if he did start to develop any sort of rash that we couldn’t take care of that we would switch to cloth) and we started to build up our reserve of disposable diapers. Fast forward to last month when I came across this tutorial for an awesome diaper bag. I was starting to nest (and most of my nesting was sewing…I had it baaaaaad) and realized that the only diaper bag we had for Seth was much too big. I took this tutorial, made a trip to my local Hobby Lobby to discuss fabric and interfacing options with my favorite fabric lady (her name is  Shirley and she’s awesome), and then came home. The next day I tackled the fabric and 8 hours later (yes 8 hours…that includes cutting, ironing, ironing interfacing, stopping to tend to Kait, and all the sewing) I had this:
005
Please excuse the quality of the photos…it wasn’t a photography-friendly day when I took these pictures.
This is a shot of the outside front flap. I chose a plain brown fabric because I knew Steve would be carrying it too, and I used denim thread for extra stability.

007
I fell in love with this funky polka dot print the moment I saw it. The inside has 2 elastic pockets on each side. Figuring out how to attach the pocket fabric with the elastic to the liner fabric was a challenge, but I think I did alright.
008
A blurry shot of the back velcro pocket and one of the side pockets.
009
Under the front flap has 2 pockets with velcro closures. Sorry for the blurry photos.
010
Other side pocket & you can see how I attached the straps. The thread went a little crazy, but I don’t care. It works great and that’s all that matters. 🙂

5 Responses to “Does this make me a hip mama?”

  1. Your bag is awesome!!!

  2. through the blur, i can see the awesomeness of the bag! i love the interior fabric, too! and way to be thoughtful of your hubs who gets to carry this bag, too.

  3. 3 Geertrude

    That is a great bag! I love the lining fabric.

  4. hey you!

    i hope all is well in mama-land!

    visit me for a giveaway!

  5. You did an awesome job making that diaper bag!!! It turned out really cute! I wish I was that talented so I could make my own.


Leave a Reply

