Banana Bread

23Jun09

I’m not sure what deal is with all the baking, but I was at it again Saturday. We had some fairly riped bananas and I really hated to throw them out, so I dug out my favorite banana bread recipe and whipped these up in no time.

And just in case you wanted to try out my fool-proof banana bread recipe, here it is:

First, gather all of your ingredients:
012
3-4 ripe bananas, smashed
1 c sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/3 c melted butter
1 egg, beaten
1 1/2 c all-purpose flour (I’ve substituted 1/2 c whole wheat and the recipe came out yummy, but I don’t know about subbing the entire amount)
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

You don’t need a mixer for this. A good old wooden spoon will do the trick. Mix the butter into the bananas. I like to start off by just mashing the bananas in the bowl I’m going to mix all of the batter in; it cuts down on the amount of dirty dishes later. I also save the bowl that I melted the butter in and I use that to beat my egg in. Mix in sugar, egg, & vanilla next. Sprinkle baking soda and salt over mixture and then mix in well. Add flour last; I usually mix it in 1/2 c at a time.
013
That white blob at the bottom of the picture would be my 35 week belly that I couldn’t keep out of the shot and take a decent photo. ha.

Bake for 1 hr or until a knife/toothpick comes out of the center clean. This recipe makes 1 loaf or 12 muffins. It stays super moist and is oh-so-yummy.
014

I hope you and your family loves this bread as much as my family does!

One Response to “Banana Bread”

  1. 1 Geertrude

    Oh, I want to start baking too! But I have so many other things to do…
    This is going on my want-to-bake list, I think the girls will love it!


Leave a Reply

