Yum

19Jun09

Can Kristen bake bread from scratch?
001
I chose Elizabeth’s recipe to start out with. Her instructions seemed very clear and basic. Just what a beginner needs. 🙂
002
I decided that since I was going to make a mess of my kitchen, I might as well make a double batch. I wanted to mix the dough “old school” but once I got to adding the 5th cup of flour my arm was too tired, so I cheated and used my Kitchen Aid.
003
This is what it looked like before I started to knead it. I didn’t get and shots of me kneading it or of the dough rising because the princess was awake by then and I was distracted.

004
Success!!! Elizabeth’s recipe said to bake for about 30 minutes, but my loaves only needed 22 minutes. I’m guessing that’s because it’s so freaking hot here in Houston!
006
After they’d cooled for about an hour or so, I sliced one up to taste test. Sooooo gooooood! I let the hubs taste it and he liked it so much that he used it to make his sandwich for lunch this morning. 🙂 Oh…and some bread bags are in the works now. I’m also on the lookout for a bread box. I’d like to get one thrifted, but I’m finding they are hard to come by.

005
Elizabeth said that her favorite way to eat this bread was with butter and honey.  I totally agree. It makes a yummy before bedtime snack and a yummy it’s-4am-and-I-can’t-sleep-thanks-to-third-trimester-insomnia snack.

007
Kait likes it too.

I can’t wait to play around with it and sub some whole wheat flour for the white. Your recipe suggested 1/2 C of whole wheat, but have you made it with 1/2 the total flour content being whole wheat?

Thank you so much Elizabeth for such a yummy and beginner-friendly recipe!

**********************************************************************

On an unrelated note…our comforter got ruined in the move, so I’ve been given the “ok” by the hubs to sew a duvet cover for it. I want to make a nice scrappy cover, but I don’t think I have enough different fabrics to get the true scrappy effect. If anyone has any cotton (or similar weight)  fabric they’re looking to get rid of…I’d gladly take it off your hands and send you a little something in return. 🙂

5 Responses to “Yum”

  1. 1 Mom

    Yum is right. I want the recipe so I can make some. Kait looks like she just woke up. She is so darned cute!!!!

  2. yay! i’m so glad you made it! and so glad it turned out!

    you can use as much whole wheat flour as you want. it seems to me, that a little whole wheat flour goes a long way . . . maybe start by substituting 1 cup of whole wheat flour. also, adding a cup of oatmeal is really good. you won’t have to cut your flour down by much, and you add lots of nutrients!

    did you mom realize that she can click on “Elizabeth’s recipe” and get it? if she makes it, i’d love to know how it goes for her!

    what colors of fabric are you looking for? i’d be up for a swap!

  3. 3 Geertrude

    That looks very tasty! Trying to bake my own bread is also high on my todo list, but I haven’t gotten to it yet…

  4. 4 Sarah

    Pretty nice post. I just came by your blog and wanted to say
    that I have really liked reading your blog posts. Any way
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog and I hope you write again soon!

  5. Loved your latest post, by the way.


Leave a Reply

