Rainbow-y Goodness

18Jun09

During my surfing of the web last week, I found this recipe for rainbow cupcakes. Kait saw it too and hasn’t stopped talking about them. I promised her last week that we would make them on Saturday. Well, Saturday came and I was so tired and hurting that I just couldn’t muster the energy to make them. Kait hadn’t mentioned them that day, so I didn’t feel that bad about not making them. I did want to make them, so yesterday, I dusted off my Kitchen Aid and attempted to make those pretty stripey cupcakes.

027
029
028
030
031
032
033
036045
043
042
I think Kait approves. 🙂

A couple of things I learned from this “experience.”
-This is a relatively simple recipe…but it takes a long time to mix up the colors and stripe each cupcake.
-Make sure you use relatively NEW Wilton cake dyes. My mom sent me her entire stock of cake decorating supplies and while I appreciate it (really I do mama), I used her violet (which is probably at least a couple years old I’m guessing) to tint the purple and it came out almost grey. I had to add a substansial amount of red to get it to look purple-y.
-Err on the side of less! When you are tinting, you can always add more dye if the color isn’t as bright as you want it, but you can’t take it out. Also, don’t get discouraged if the raw batter isn’t as bright as you’d like. The colors get brighter after they bake, I promise.
-Also on the side of less…obviously I didn’t take into account how much cupcakes “puff up” when they bake. That’s why I only have enough batter for 12 instead of the normal 24…and look how ginormous they were. Next time, I’ll make sure that I use less batter. I was so worried about each color touching all the sides of the liner that I didn’t think about how much the batter was going to expand. I assure you that even if your batter doesn’t touch the sides of the liner, it will during baking.

All in all, Kait enjoyed watching me make them and dictating which bowl got tinted next and which color I used next. She was so excited to wake up after her nap and eat a rainbow cupcake. They were too big, so she didn’t even finish the whole thing. I think she and I will share these to eat them up. Oh, and Daddy likes them too…he ate 2. 🙂

5 Responses to “Rainbow-y Goodness”

  1. 1 justbeingkim

    I love them! I can’t wait to make my July 4th ones!

  2. 2 Mom

    OOOOO they look yummy.

  3. what fun! they look so pretty!

    and thanks for your comment over on my blog.
    notice, i didn’t mention “perfectly clean houses” or “all the dishes done” in my list of what makes life simply good. *smile*

    a big hug to you, sweet mama. i’m glad i’m getting to know you.

  4. 4 Heidi

    now this is really great! I might have to have some food coloring fun too…
    one little trick with the wilton colors is if they are a bit old add some glycerine to them and stir them well before you use them, they separate with age.
    (used to be a cake decorator once upon a time before fiber took over my world.)

  5. 5 Geertrude

    Those look like so much fun!


Leave a Reply

