One of many sitting places

13May09

Since I got my “orders” to take it easy, I’ve been trying to find different places for me to sit where Kaitlin and Dominic can be in my sight but still have fun. The obvious first answer to this dilemma is the couch, however I’ve been trying to limit the amount of time they spend in front of the tv. One place that I’ve been retreating to at least once a day is our back porch.

110
We’ve been having some especially mild nights the past few days, so I’ve been enjoying some quiet time after the kiddos are in bed. My favorite things to do while sitting outside is to knit (of course) or stare at my growing vegetable and fruit “garden” and daydream about harvesting with the kids, teaching them the values of growing your own produce, and all the yummy dishes that we will make with our home-grown produce.

011
This photo was taken at the very beginning of my second attempt to start our produce garden (the first attempt went down the drain during my first trimester [when I was sick as a dog] and my second trimester [when I was working full-time and would literally come home and crash]). I was so ashamed that I’d let our garden “go” the way I had, so I’m even more determined to make it work a second time. In this photo there are a few varieties of tomatoes, 2 strawberry plants, and a cantaloupe plant.

113
Our garden now has thornless blackberries, cucumber, green beans, broccoli, and lettuce. The last 4 listed aren’t producing edible bits yet, and we’re waiting for the blackberries to ripen so we can pick them. Dominic checks them every day after school to see if they’re ready yet.

111
The seemingly empty pot is actually housing our tiny lettuce seedlings.
121
See?

114
Can you spot the little strawberry that is almost ripe enough for picking, peeking out?

115
Our highly anticipated blackberries.

120
Last but not least, green beans and broccoli sprouts.

I am so excited to finally have a thriving garden! Of course I’m using the term garden loosely, but I have a good reason for that: we are planning on replanting these in gigantic wooden planters when we get to our new house in Houston. Obviously it’s silly and pointless to actually plant anything here when we’ll only be in this house about 2 1/2-3 more weeks.

Wow…2 1/2-3 weeks left.

2 Responses to “One of many sitting places”

  1. 1 Mom

    Very nice post Kris. I really enjoyed it!!

  2. 2 Heidi

    what a great little start, I am quite impressed that you can manage to think about gardening with so much going on… kudos mama.


Leave a Reply

