Greetings from the couch

12May09

So much has happened since I last posted, and to avoid blabbing about it all, I’m going to try to sum it up in a few sentences. Here goes…

-We’ve accepted an offer on our house, which was on the market for a week. We close on the 29th, so things are a bit chaotic here with packing and all that good stuff.

-Amidst all of the packing, I am planning a combo birthday party for the kids to take place before we leave Austin. I want them to be able to celebrate once more with their friends before we move. Unfortunately, Steve won’t be able to come as he cannot get any time off from work until the closing.

-Last Tuesday night found me at the hospital. We (my friend, Debra, and myself) thought that I might be going into early labor (at 28 weeks!!), and since Kaitlin was 6 weeks early, we didn’t want to chance it. In short, I was experiencing severe Braxton Hicks contractions, which apparently I shouldn’t be having painful ones this early; and since they were in my back and my stomach, they were worried. Basically, I’m on light activity/high rest…pretty much “diet bed rest.” I’m not sure how else to put it. I can get up and move around, but I’m to do no lifting whatsoever, very little bending over, no packing, drinking lots of water, and getting lots of rest. Seeing as we need to be out of the house by the 29th, this has been tough for me. Luckily, we’ve been blessed with lots of help from some wonderful people at our church, so some things are getting done.

In my absence, I’ve been getting lots of knitting and crocheting for the baby done. I even did a little bit of sewing last night! Would you like to see? I hope so because I want to share. 🙂

141
142
144
145

I also knitted 3 more bibs, but the picture doesn’t want to show up right now.

Now it’s time for me to go get some rest. I have lots of pictures to share from the past 2 weeks.

4 Responses to “Greetings from the couch”

  1. 1 Heidi

    wow. no fun mama.. make sure you take it easy, I am glad to hear all is progressing with the house 🙂

  2. 2 Kim

    Aww, babe! I’m so sorry! I’m glad that everything seems to be okay. Take it easy! At least you are getting some knitting done! And it looks really good too. I’m glad people are coming around to help you out. I wish I could be there to help you 😦
    I loves you!

  3. hey kristin!

    good to hear a little update from you – even if it’s not all fun news.

    glad your house sold so quickly! that’s a blessing – even if it made the packing speed up.

    love the little black and white hat and socks!

    take it EASY! for you and your baby and your whole family!

    hugs to you,
    E

  4. 4 Mom

    You said I don’t ever respond when there is knitted items on your blog. Now you can’t say that anymore. Anyway, I do love the booties and hats. The sweaters look a little girlish though. Are they for Seth, or is there something you haven’t told me yet?


Leave a Reply

