slow down

22Apr09

I’m a stubborn girl. We’re talking knock me over the head stubborn. Ever had one of those moments when God has to do something drastic to get you to pay attention? I had one of those moments today.

I’ll explain, but let me back up a little bit.

I’ve been really busy this week trying to get the house ready as best as I can because ready or not, it’s going on the market tomorrow morning. Since we are closing on the house Friday afternoon, Steve has to take the 2nd half of his day off which means that he’ll be done with work around 9am. Nice, I know, but mind you, he starts work at 5am. Moving right along…I’ve decided that I’m going to give Dom the day off from school (he’s been such a big help this week) and we are going to leave early to drive to Houston so we can spend more time with Steve. So, in between the cleaning, rearranging, appointments with photographers, stagers, & steam cleaners, I’ve been packing. All the while, I have to keep up the day-to-day responsibilities of having 2 small children.

Needless to say, it’s been a hectic week.

Every night I crash into bed shortly after I put the kids down (7pm-ish) and I let my body unwind. Every morning I wake up to crazy backaches and sort feet. I’m grumpy. I should’ve known that this was God’s way of telling me to calm down and let Him take control.

I didn’t listen.

Steve’s birthday is next Tuesday, so it occurred to me this morning that I needed to get his gift for him before we go to Houston this weekend so that I can give it to him. I already knew what I wanted to get him, I just had to go to the store and get it.

So there I was: walking in the parking lot to the store (I’m trying to be vague because I’m not sure if he reads my blog), texting him back (he was on his lunchbreak)…and let me just pause to say that yes, I realize that I shouldn’t text and walk at the same time…and then…

BAM!!!

Down I went. I’d tripped. Luckily, I landed on my hands and knees, so baby’s fine, but my ankle…not so much. I think I’ve sprained it. In fact, I’m pretty sure I have. I sat there for a while, trying not to cry and rubbing it. After the pain had subsided and the stars were gone, I got up and proceeded to shop for what I’d come for. Now, I’m at work with my foot propped up and ice on it, watching it expand and bruise. I know it’s not broken because I’m able to hobble/limp, thus the sprain diagnosis. For those of you who aren’t familiar with my coordination (or rather lack thereof), sprained ankles are not new to me…so I’m doing all the “right” things to care for it.

In short….

Okay, God. I’m listening now. I’ll slow down.

5 Responses to “slow down”

  1. 1 Geertrude

    Oh yes, you should slow down! I don’t think I could manage your days and I’m not pregnant. Please take good care of yourself!

  2. Oh no – I hope your ankle heals fast!

  3. oh man…. I am so sorry you took a tumble, that is so incredibly scary…I think I took a huge fall with each of my pregnancies, it isn’t always easy balancing a pregnant body. Hope you have a chance to sit a while and just be still and know that your God will get you through…

  4. put your feet up. knit. *smile*
    watch your big kiddos.
    enjoy your growing babe.
    talk to God. He’s a great listener!
    hugs to you!

  5. 5 Kim

    Take time to stop and smell the roses…..slow it down : Love ya!


Leave a Reply

