For my future mess maker

20Apr09

Every weekend (almost) we make the 3 hour drive to Houston to spend the weekend with Daddy (and Grandpa Al, of course). Even though we are in town, Daddy still has to work, so I try to pack lots of things to keep us all entertained. Most weekends there’s at least one trip to the park and one trip to the movies planned for while Daddy is at work on Saturday (when he works a 10-hr day from 5am-3pm). These outings usually eat up about 2 hrs or so of the day, but then we are left with lots of time for playing. The kids mostly enjoy Legos, coloring, picking flowers in Grandpa Al’s backyard (also known as picking his weeds, ha), and just running around enjoying their Grandpa’s attention. This usually gives me some hands-free time…not quite quiet time, but at least I am able to enjoy one of my own hobbies… like knitting, of course.
007-51
The pattern is called The Perfect Baby Bib by Debbie Haymark and can be found as a free pdf download on Ravelry.
008-5
It has a ribbed neckline that is knit in the round and then you bind off half of the stitches and continue in side-to-side knitting for the front of the bib.
011-3
Each bib takes about 2/3 of a skein of Sugar ‘n Creme cotton and your color options are limitless. I’ve just been grabbing any balls of boyish colorways from my stash and knitting away.
009-3
Another thing I love about these little bibs is that you can just moisten them and use them as a washcloth to clean baby’s face after he’s finished eating.
010-3
They also knit up very quickly. I finished one while curled up on the couch with Daddy watching a movie Sunday afternoon. I’m planning to line the back with some soft flannel which will hopefully take care of the curling at the edges. Cotton is block-able, but these bibs are going to get so much use that I’m not that worried about the curling.

The pattern is ridiculously addicting and I’ve already made it halfway through my fifth bib. According to the pattern, I’m knitting the 6 month size, but I didn’t realize until I’d started the third that I was using a size 8 circular and not a size 6 like I thought  I was using. At any rate, the bibs seem to be about the “normal” size for a bib, so I’m not that worried about it. The ribbing isn’t too tight, but I think it will be snug enough to cover Seth’s collar well. I’m just excited that I found a pattern that is easy to memorize, highly customizable (just alter the cast on stitches to your desired amount, bind off half the stitches, knit a  1-inch garter border, 4 or 5 stitch garter border on the sides, stockinette in the middle, and another 1-inch garter border before binding off…easy peasy), portable, and so useful. I see a lot more of these in my future.

We have lots to do today. I’m planning on doing lots of planting today (we are going to get some more fruits and veggies to plant in pots to transport to our Houston house once we move) and hopefully my girl won’t mind getting her hands dirty. 🙂

4 Responses to “For my future mess maker”

  1. 1 Geertrude

    That looks like a great pattern! I’m tempted to knit some myself. IF only there were some babies in my immediate future! (uhm, no, wait! I don’t mean I want to be a grandmother soon!)

  2. 2 justbeingkim

    Those really are adorable! And they looked just like what I had pictured in my mind when you were telling me about them last night! Good Job Mom!

  3. the gauge difference shouldn’t matter since these will shrink a ton when you run them through the wash, looks like you made a happy mistake 😉

  4. Hi

    I am so pleased to see that you are enjoying The Perfect Baby Bib. It has amazed me that a pattern so easy could be so practical. I also want to thank you for giving me credit on your blog.

    I wish you many happy days of knitting

    Debbie


Leave a Reply

