Baby Blocks

14Apr09

006-4
I’ve started on a different afghan for Seth.

007-4
(star square)
My plan is to knit up squares of basically the same size (give or take a row) using various dishcloth patterns.

008-4
Once I’m finished knitting up all of the squares I’m going to sew them together to make a blanket for Seth.

013-2
I haven’t decided on how many blocks per row and how many rows the blanket will have, but I have narrowed it down to 2 different layouts which will require either 24 blocks or 30 blocks.

012-2
I’m keeping all of the colors bright and on the boy-ish side. Steve has requested no purple or pink, haha.

011-2
These blocks are a very satisfying knit. One takes me about 1-2 hrs to knit and I love to see them piling up.

010-2
(baby footprints cloth)
I’m also planning on backing the blanket with some bright colored flannel.

014-2
 This is hopefully going to be Seth’s tummy time blanket. I want something durable and washable.

009-2
I’ve been having a little trouble finding patterns for cloths where the dimensions match up what I’m looking for, so I’ve been knitting up some stripey cloths out of the scraps as filler blocks as well.

Hopefully this will turn out to be a much-loved blankey. 🙂

4 Responses to “Baby Blocks”

  1. well, i’ll start on the love! i love this blanket already! it looks so happy! i LOVE the colors! and Seth. i like that name. i hope that you and he and everyone else are doing well!

  2. I adore your color combos and I really love how his name is written out in it… so sweet!

  3. 3 Geertrude

    That is going to be a lovely blanket for him! I love it!

  4. I love that afghan – what a great idea!


Leave a Reply

