Our house smells like paint

26Feb09

And I kind of like it. Don’t worry, the house is well ventilated. We’re lucky this week is our paint week because our temps have been in the low 80s with wind, so we’re able to open all the windows in the house and turn the fans on to keep the air circulating. Please don’t freak out; I promsie I’m not getting high off of paint fumes or anything like that. haha. Steve finished repainting the kids’ bathroom yesterday. It’s the smallest room in the house that needed painting, but it still feels like a substantial accomplishment. Today he hopes to get more primer on Dom’s walls (his room was painted blue and green) and finish our master bathroom (which is painted yellow and luckily only needs one coat of paint…he “tested” a small wall last night). He also is planning on putting up new blinds in Kait’s room, hanging the mirror and shower curtain back up in the kids’ bathroom, and buying more bathroom paint from Wal-Mart today. I have to work all day, so I’m planning on cleaning off Dom’s bookshelf in his room this evening and starting to price items for the garage sale.

Steve leaves Sunday evening for Houston (he has to start work at 5am on Monday, poor guy), so he’s trying to get as much painting and packing of the truck (his dad said he could store some stuff at his house…Steve’s going to take our Christmas, Halloween, and Thanksgiving decorations plus all of his clothes, I think) before Sunday. I’m not sure exactly what day I’m planning on having the garage sale (of course, the more weekends I do it, the better chance I have of selling the stuff) but I have every Saturday off in March (except for the 28th, which I’m working on….I HATE working Saturdays) so I’m thinking it might be a good idea for me to have multiple sales. And Daddy, yes I plan on advertising the sale as much as I can.

Speaking of the garage sale…I have 5 or 6 good sized boxes full of stuff to put in the sale. I just filled a box from Dom’s room (clothes and shoes that are too small, Thomas stuff he doesn’t use anymore [no, NOT the train table Nana & Pop Pop], and some other games he doesn’t play with anymore…his books will be sorted through tonight). I haven’t really attacked my room like I would like to, and I’m not going through Kait’s clothes until we find out the sex of the baby (which Steve will miss since he’ll be working in Houston). So, I still have a good bit to do, but I’m not going to let not knowing the sex of the baby keep me from having a garage sale next weekend. I mean, if I have more than one then I can always put Kait’s clothes (should the baby be a boy…but I don’t anticipate keeping ALL of her clothes anyway) in another sale. Okay, yes I’m rambling. Sorry. I’ve just got a lot of stuff in my head that I need to get put into words.

On a more interesting note (or at least I think), we’ve decided that while we are apart, neither Steve nor I will go out to eat. For those of you who know me, you might find this funny, but I’m serious. We need to save up for our next house and try and build our savings back up (which took a massive blow with the whole unemployed but still need to pay bills but my checks don’t cover them all issue). So, the interesting part…or rather the part where I would like some suggestions….

I need recipes. I’m hoping to find some good casserole and crock pot recipes (besides chili and stew…got those down to a science practically). Obviously while Steve is gone, I will be in charge of everything…so since most of my energy is going to be focused on getting the house ready to sell, working on the garage sale, feeding the kids, and keeping the house clean…I need to make all of these tasks as easy as possible. I’m hoping to find some yummy, kid-friendly (a big deal in our house) casserole recipes that I can put together in the morning and leave in the fridge, and just heat up when I get home from work. I still have to work 2 full days and 1-2 half day shifts while Steve is gone.

So anyway, got any recipes? Send them my way pretty please!! Also, I’m planning on testing out these recipes on the kids and then the ones they really like I’m going to make again but freeze so we have easy dinners for after the baby is here.

*******************************************************

To answer my mama’s question(s) from yesterday…I need a size XL maternity top unless it’s from Motherhood Maternity and then I need a 2XL (my top half is getting pretty big and probably won’t fit in XL tops from there for much longer…that yellow top was from Motherhood). Also, if you could please just get me solid color tops, that would be great. I don’t want to be picky or ungracious, but solid color tops are the best for me because I can mix and match (I do have khaki maternity pants, I just don’t wear them very much). Thanks Mama!

************************************************

Last thing for today (and I’m so sorry there’s no pictures today but the house is total chaos…it’s not pretty), I entered a giveaway!!! It’s not a crafty giveaway, but a foody giveaway. If you would like to know more, go visit: http://ourblessedarrows.blogspot.com/2009/02/fun-giveaway-from-general-mills.html 

If you’ve made it this far with my rambling, I thank you. I promise more interesting and picture-included posts are in the future. 🙂

5 Responses to “Our house smells like paint”

  1. 1 justbeingkim

    Here’s a good site: http://www.allrecipes.com They have tons of stuff, you can even name ingredients you have in there and it can give you something to make. I’ve used it a bunch and never had one turn out bad. I am saddened that we will not be sharing our love for the McD’s sweet tea together for awhile. Eating at home is good. We are trying to do more of that ourselves.

  2. 2 Dad

    Recipe for Carp which is a pretty cheap fish when on a budget. First, a thick oak board at least 1.5 inches thick. Second gut the fish and fill it with cow poop. Third, cook at 375 for 35 minutes. Last, Remove from oven, throw away the fish and eat the poop.

    Kris, nothing stays the same, if Dom doesn’t play with the train table, then sell it. Just don’t sell it cheap. At least $20. Nana agrees with me if he’s out grown it.

  3. ooh, ooh, http://www.crockpot365.blogspot.com – TONS of awesome crock pot recipes. I use this site a couple times a week.

  4. 4 justbeingkim

    Your dad’s receipe sounds really good. Did ya’ll eat this alot growing up? 🙂

  5. 5 Mom

    No Kimmie, we just took a lot of you know what.


Leave a Reply

