Enjoying the sun

16Feb09

There’s nothing like a beautiful sunny day with temps in the low 60s to get you in the productive mood.

dsc00524
dsc00525
There’s broccoli, lettuce, roma tomatoes, strawberries, pumpkin, & cantaloupe so far. I would’ve planted more, but I ran out of potting soil. The hubs has taken on a wonderful excitement for growing our own food and is starting plans for some raised gardens in our backyard. Of course, they won’t be as big as we would like, but they will certainly be large enough to feed our family. We went to Lowe’s last night and I also got some seeds to grow watermelon (going to have to allow for 5-7 feet for proper growth, that’s going to be a toughy), chammomile, cilantro, basil leaves (not the bush kind which I didn’t know existed), oregano, cherry tomatoes, & normal sized tomatoes. I’ve been daydreaming of making and canning my own salsa and spaghetti sauce in the fall. I also bought seeds to plant marigolds, miniature sunflowers, carnations, & aster to plant in the orange pots once the veggie & fruit seedlings are large enough to be replanted in the raised garden beds.

dsc00526
dsc00527
These little strawberry seedlings have got me so excited. I couldn’t find any strawberry plants or seeds at Lowe’s and I was worried that I would have trouble tracking some down. But when I got home to plant my seeds, I was pleasantly surprised to see that 2 of my strawberry plants from last summer somehow survived the winter and my negligence (I’m so ashamed!). When I started to uproot them, I found that there were 2 other sets of roots that seem to be living, so I’m hoping to get those planted real soon (as in today when I get home from work…I ran out of potting soil yesterday haha).

In knitting news, I finished the little baby beanie for the Sweet Pea.
sweet-pea-hat-2

I have a confession to make. I’ve been having an internal war with myself over whether we should cloth diaper the baby or not. I’ve never cloth diapered before, and honestly, the convenience of disposables is so appealing. Steve isn’t too much help with this; his attitude is that he’ support whatever choice I make, but I know he’d prefer that I choose disposables. In fact, he’s even talked me into using disposables when we have to go out with the baby. I agree sort of: I think that we should use disposables when we go to church so that the ladies in the nursery don’t have to worry about bagging the dirty cloth diaper. I just don’t know. I think I’m also lacking confidence in myself to keep up with it. But at the same time, the job that we are expecting an offer from any day now (they’re completing Steve’s background check and are waiting for a copy of his diploma from his highschool which should get there this week) & plan on taking isn’t going to pay as much as his last job did, so we are going to have to make some cut-backs. I think that going cloth would be smart for our finances, but he isn’t that worried about it (“it’s all how you budget, dear”); but then again, he’s all for us growing our own food to cut back on our grocery bill. I believe that going cloth will also cut back on our grocery bill…a lot. I guess my main woe is that I’m not going to be able to keep up with it. Also, I don’t really have any knowledge about going cloth (except for what my mom’s told me..which makes it sound terrible: swirling poopy diapers in the toilet, plastic pants)…I’ve just been researching as much as I can online. To make a long ramble short…if you have any cloth diapering advice, tips, helpful hints…please send them my way! I would greatly appreciate it! Thanks!!

p.s. Valentine’s Day was wonderful too:
dsc00528

6 Responses to “Enjoying the sun”

  1. 1 Mom

    Go with disposables!!! I’ll help you with the cost so you don’t have to bother with the yucky smell of a diaper pale. When I did cloth, I didn’t have any other choice. You do. Go for it – the disposables, that is.

  2. LOVE your garden! Will this be your first garden, or have you done it before? We had our first last summer, and it was so wonderful. The only thing we did wrong was wait til June to get the seeds in the ground, so we had a late harvest. This year I vowed to start planting in February. Last week I started my first little pots inside – it’s way too cold here to put them outside yet. I’m jealous!
    As for the diapers – I say go with cloth! I did disposables, and I regret it now. I hate to think of how many diapers I’ve contributed to the landfill! And the cost. Yuk. I’m just now shopping for some overnight cloths since both of my girls still wear a pull up to bed.

  3. thanks for the laundry pic! looks lovely!

    diapers . . . hmmmm . . . i used disposables, but the town i live in incinerates ALL the garbage and the heat generated heats the city and county buildings and offices. so, all those diapers we used got burned up!

  4. So, since granted, I have no children, I will give you my mom’s response when this question came about in one of our conversations.

    It was a lot of work and it was a mess…..this is really summing up..

    Needless to say, I was not a clothed diaper baby…

  5. Bucky, take some advice from “dear ‘ol dad” the cloth way “ain’t” that cheap! You have all the extra washing, that’s detergent, bleach, fabric softener, and water. And, you don’t hang them on the line! If you do the baby will get chaffing which is an added expense of doctor visit, meds etc. Also, your diaper pail will STINK!!!

  6. oh honey, swishing diapers is a thing of the past 🙂
    you should go to http://www.babyboms.com I highly recommend these diapers, they are a onesize fitted (so you still need a cover) and they have a very comprehensive price comparison chart on their website with the cheapest store brand disposables. I also loved using the motherease onesize diapers, (www.motherease.com) and their air flow covers are a must have to use along with the wool. I have two Bumpy wool wraps by imse vimse that are wonderful and I LOVE them. I have never found an all in one I actually liked, and I am not a fan of pockets…Cloth diapering is no harder than diapering with disposables, other than the extra laundry… email me if you have questions.
    Heidi


Leave a Reply

