A jumbled post

13Feb09

I don’t know if I’m blogging too early, or if it’s just that I haven’t had enough coffee, but my mind is feeling a little muddled. I have a couple of pictures that I want to share with you all and hopefully I’ll be able to form coherent sentences to chat about each one.

001-6
Dominic brought this little plant home from school a couple of weeks ago when it was just a sprout. I wish I’d taken a picture of it when he first brought it home because it has grown so much in the week or 2 that it’s been here. Of course, Mama has been the one taking the most care of it, but he does help every once in a while. This little corner of my baker’s rack gets just enough morning sun for the plant to thrive. What is it? A pumpkin, according to Dom. I’m not sure if it is or not because I’ve never seen a pumpkin in its early stages of growth. Anyone know? I’ve never grown a pumpkin before, but Dominic is so excited that I can’t see letting it die.

002-5
While I was taking a picture of the pumpkin plant, Kait begged me to take a picture of her. I’m amazed at just how much she’s growing up. And seriously…look at all that hair! This is how she looks when she first wakes up in the morning. She must get all that hair from her father because according to my mom, I was bald until I was 3, and when it did come in it was thin and much lighter than Kait’s hair. There was even a period of time where I had blonde hair; I have the pictures somewhere to prove it. More news about Kait…she’s about 85%-90% potty trained. She’s just started doing both in the potty (I’m trying to be vague but still get the point across haha) now, but now we’re just working on minimizing her accidents before we are brave enough to start putting her in big girl panties. She is doing very well though; just this morning when she woke up she kept repeating “I need to go potty, I need to go potty.” Yay! We really want her to be completely potty trained (with the exceptions of accidents, of course) before the baby’s born & it looks like we might just get our wish.

sweet-pea-hat-1
More baby knitting. I just couldn’t help myself. Oh and the yarn is some more yarn that Morgan and I dyed last summer. We were attempting a self-striping rainbow yarn, but when it was all finished and I swatched it, it didn’t stripe at all and the colors pooled in less-than-desirable ways. I was disappointed but I still loved the bright colors. But look at this baby beanie I’m knitting, check out that stripe pattern! I guess I just needed to knit the yarn up into something small enough for the striping to line up. I am so pleased with this little hat and I should have enough yarn left over to knit up a pair of baby booties to match.

On tap for Saturday:
Yes I realize that it’s Valentine’s Day, but since Steve and I both believe that V Day is mainly a Hallmark holiday, we’re not going to make that big of a deal out of it. I’ve picked up a little something for each of the kids (Dom’s getting a purple Emperor Webkinz dragon & I’m going to make him little vouchers for comuter time; and Kait is getting a stuffed doggie, maybe in pink…not sure yet) and will probably make heart shaped pancakes or something for them (maybe dye them red with food coloring) but we’re not really going to make a big production out of it. I’m hoping to spend a good chunk of the day tomorrow cleaning the house and doing laundry (the weather’s nice enough again for me to take full advantage of my clothesline…I’ve missed it). Steve and I are going out this evening for dinner or something…not sure yet. I’m sure I’ll find some time somewhere to knit tomorrow. I’d really like to at least finish up this little hat.

Okay, I’m done rambling…for now. 🙂

4 Responses to “A jumbled post”

  1. hello rambling K!

    i love the little hat!

    and oh, those sleepy morning kiddos – you just wanna hug ’em and kiss ’em, don’t ya.

    have a happy day! and if you hang laundry out in the sunshine tomorrow, i’ll be jealous!

  2. 2 justbeingkim

    Look at Kait’s here! I love it! Make me some red heart shaped pancakes!

  3. 3 justbeingkim

    Wal-mart has tulips for the same price in pink, red, and purple. They are pretty and I would love some!

  4. 4 Mom

    Look at my adorable granddaughter!!


Leave a Reply

