On the needles

12Feb09

I promised last week that I would share what has been on my needles.

baby-sleep-sack
I know I’ve said this before, but I just love self-striping yarn. I find it so magical. It keeps projects that can get monotonous, like this one with its endless rows of stockinette, interesting. I get so excited to see the next color change. The pattern? It’s the Kicking Bag for Babies and is available as a free pdf download on Ravelry. After I saw Soulemama’s version (Ravelry link), I just knew I had to make one for my new little one. We still don’t know the gender, so I figured that this sock yarn I had in my stash was non-gender specific enough.

sz-sm-soaker-turq
A Fern & Faerie wool soaker using their free pattern and some Patons Classic Wool that I dyed last summer with some blue Kool-Aid. My teenage knitting apprentice, Morgan, helped me and we had a blast that night making a mess of my kitchen. I wish I’d taken pictures, but I was having too much fun and wasn’t really into blogging back then. I’m hoping to dye some more yarn in the future and I’m going to let Dominic assist me (maybe even Kaitlin!) and I’ll be sure to take pictures. I’m trying to find more ways to get the kids more involved with crafting for the baby, but that’s another post. About this soaker, I am still planning to cloth diaper this little one (although most everyone around me thinks I’m crazy), and so I’m trying to build up a stash of diaper soakers in various sizes. I still have a lot of sewing to do for the actual diapers, but I’m not going to dive into that fiasco until we know where we will be living (which is solely dependent on my husband’s next job).

And off the needles…
danica-complete
Danica! It’s still unblocked, but it’s still a relief to have this project finished. My friend who commissioned me to knit it for her daughter came over the other night to chat, saw the scarf and decided that it was long enough and that I could just finish it off, leaving me with 1 1/2 skeins of Patons SWS in this colorway (Natural Earth) to do with what I wish. When we bought the yarn, we guesstimated how much it would take to knit it up to the desired length, and obviously we were over-prepared. I don’t mind…seeing as Patons is wool, I will most likely work up the remainder  1 1/2 skeins into another diaper soaker. Waste not, want not. 🙂 

danica-front-detail
Here’s a close-up of the front of the scarf, in case you were wondering what the stitches looked like.

danica-back-detail
Just thought I would get a shot of the back for those of you who might be wondering what the “wrong side” of entrelac looks like. Entrelac is what the stich is called that the Danica scarf pattern is knitted in.

That’s all for now. I am still plugging along on my MIL’s afghan, although it’s going quite slowly. I’d share an in-progress photo, but it would just be of strips, and that’s not very interesting.

Also, thank you so much for all of your well wishes for my arm. It must’ve been a fluke or something because it’s feeling much better. My wrist and fingers still get stiff and sore every once in a while, but it’s nowhere near the pain I was experiencing Tuesday. The knitting group was a lot of fun. I finished the ribbing of the soaker above and started on the stockinette part while chatting. I have Bunko next week, so I probably won’t be going to the knitting group next week. The hubs is getting a lil edgy being home all day with the kiddos, so I don’t know how fair it would be for me to have 2 Mommy Nights Out in one week.

Happy Thursday everyone!

5 Responses to “On the needles”

  1. hey kristin!

    you’ve got some lovely projects going!

    and i’m glad your arm didn’t hurt for long.

    and i’m so excited for you and your new baby!

    and we are in the same boat with loving daddy being around, but too much of a good thing is still too much. especially when he is trying so hard to line up more work . . .

    i hope you have a good day – and some sun!

    love,
    E

  2. 2 justbeingkim

    I love that scarf! Its prettiful!!!!

  3. 3 Geertrude

    Your Danica looks great! I really would like to make one too, but I’m still making slow progress on the dress (between writing and doing too little in the house).
    About the cloth diapers: it’s really not that hard, you can do it! I had three kids in cloth diapers for about a year and it was totally doable. I only wish I had known about knitting soakers and sewing diapers back then. Mine were just squares, folded to fit and fastened with a safety pin. And my “soakers” were plastic tie on thingies that I also washed until they fell apart.
    And still… such good memories!

    btw, something is wrong with my receiving comments through email, so I’m answering comments on the blog from now on

  4. That entrelac is gorgeous!

  5. HI, I SOME HOW GOT ONTO THIS SITE AND SAW THE DANICA SCARF KNITED WITH AN ENTRELAC STITCH. I THINK IT’S REALLY BEAUTIFUL. I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS STITCH BEFORE BUT I WAS WONDERING HOW I MIGHT BE ABLE TO GET THE PATTERN FOR THE SCARF OR INSTRUCTIONS ON HOW THE DO THIS PARTICULAR STITCH. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME AND HELP, SANDY


Leave a Reply

