Baby Talk & some Christmas ramblings

05Dec08

Since I’m feeling pretty good today (as in, I didn’t get up once during the night to get sick yay!), I thought I would write a little bit of what’s been on my mind lately. First off, I have to rant for a minute. Okay, according to weather.com, it is 46 degrees (but it feels like 44). If I see one more mother with a little one who’s not in a coat…I swear I will scream. Earlier, I saw a mom who had a coat on, but her baby was only wearing a long-sleeved/pants one piece suit. No hat, no coat, no blanket. Later on, I saw another mother (dressed in jeans, shoes, socks, sweater, long-sleeved shirt) who was carrying a baby who was wearing a skirt, long-sleeved shirt, leg warmers…but NO SOCKS. What is wrong with these women?! It drives me nuts! Of course, it doesn’t help any that my mom engraved in my mind that you have to have a hat on a baby when it’s cold (and/or really windy) outside. Am I the only one who’s upset about this? I really don’t understand people.

Moving right along…I’m feeling pretty darn good today. I just might knit some tonight, depending on how I feel when I get off work (I’m working an 11-hour day today, blah).
Things I need to finish:
-Knit hat & crocheted purse for Laura
-Knit hat for Taylor
-Special gift for Mom (that I will post pictures of when I’m done because if I get it right, it’s gonna be awesome!)
-Slithery Snake for Dom
-Danica scarf for my friend’s daughter (don’t know if she reads my blog or not, so I need to be vague)
-Crocheted Texas flag afghan for my mom-in-law

I reeeeally want to get these things done before we leave for SC so that I can knit baby stuff in front of the fireplace at my parents’ house. You have no idea how much I am looking forward to enjoying a fireplace for a little while. I can’t wait to smell that smell again.

Sorry for the lack of pictures this post (and the last one for that matter) and for the rant (although I hope I’m not alone with that one). I promise to post lots of pictures once all the Christmas presents have been received.

4 Responses to “Baby Talk & some Christmas ramblings”

  1. yes, yes, yes – dress ’em up warmly! (but don’t smother the poor little things . . . ) we LOVE hats at our house! and no choice here about wearing warm things – it is around 1 degree right now and WINDY!

    and i am so excited for you about your babe on the way!

    and what fun christmas will be with the two you’ve got at your mom and dad’s! in front of a fireplace, no less!

    my fingers are crossed that you will feel well enough to knit tonight!

  2. 2 deldobuss

    I don’t intend to be rude, but 46 degrees is fairly decent in some areas of the US. I don’t make my kids wear a coat until about 40 degrees or below. Currently, it is 26 degrees here in Kansas. When we went to Wisconsin for Thanksgiving, it was 17 degrees most mornings, warming up to about 28 by 2pm.

    I agree you should dress your children appropriately according to the weather, but sometimes what is appropriate to one is way overdressed for another.

    I like your pictures on your blog, hope you get all your projects done! I am crocheting up a storm trying to make purses and doilies for presents.

  3. As we discussed this a.m., just 9 more days and you will be home. When you wake up in the wee morning hours (after 4:30 a.m. when your dad gets up) and can’t sleep, you can climb into bed with me and we can talk. It also goes without saying though that Dom and Kait get to come in too when they wake up (whatever hour that may be). I wouldn’t miss it for the world!! Love you, Mom.

  4. 4 Geertrude

    Still sick? Poor girl! I hope you do find some time to enjoy preparing for Christmas.
    ~~
    Oh, I just read your mom’s comment above. So I guess you’re home now. Have fun and (let your family) take care of yourself and the little one.
    wishing you a merry Christmas!


Leave a Reply

