Scenic Route

19Nov08

As I was driving to work the other day, I became very aware of my surroundings. You see, I’m a city girl. I grew up in Charleston, SC; not the biggest city in the US but definitely monstrous compared to where I live now. I remember when I first moved out here, I hated it. Seriously. If it hadn’t been for the fact that my heart lived out here, I would’ve never even entertained the thought of moving here, much less actually do it.

It’s been 19 months since I officially changed my address, and my outlook on where I live is much different than it was when I first moved. I still miss the city, of course, but not so much that I want to actually live there anymore. I’ve come to embrace the quiet, the lack of street lights (don’t laugh, this was a big deal to me when I first moved; I’d never lived anywhere that didn’t have any street lights). Of course, living out in the “country”; I use the term loosely as I do have neighbors and live in an actual neighborhood, but it’s often referred to as the country; there are some hazards. A couple of weeks back, we were coming home from the grocery store (it’s literally 5 minutes down the street from our house; love that), driving on one of those unlit streets, a deer jumped out right in front of us. I didn’t even see it until we were already screeching to a halt. Thank goodness my husband was driving, because I don’t think I would’ve caught it in time.

So, back to being very aware of my surroundings: on my way to work, I found myself completely engrossed in the “country” around me. It donned on me just how lucky I was that I get to take the scenic route to work every day. Sure, I could take the main highway to work, but I’m blessed with having an alternate route. I couldn’t resist taking some shots of what I see on my way to work. The pictures are “plain,” but I think they are so beautiful in their simplicity. I can’t help feeling calm when I look at them.

001-4
003-31
0012
015

*********************************************************************************************
In other news, my poor boy is home sick from school today. He has the tummy yucks. 😦

4 Responses to “Scenic Route”

  1. love the horse-trailer pic!

    and it’s fun to get an idea of your countryside.

    visit me for some other ‘still’ photos today!

    hope your guy feels better soon!

  2. My poor Dommie. Feel better sweetie!! Nana loves you and is praying for a quick recovery.

  3. 3 Geertrude

    Wow, such great surroundings. The emptiness of the first pictures is stunning!

    Hope your boy gets better soon!

  4. I am sort of your opposite. I moved to the city from small town life. Unfortunately, after a few years, I find myself longing to see the stars at night, to see nature, to be alone. Thanks for a taste of the small town life. I miss it!


Leave a Reply

