Finished Friday: Baby blankies

07Nov08

Okay, so I’d genuinely hoped that I would have Kaitlin’s pigtail hat finished to show you all today, but this week has been quite draining, so I’m not finished with it yet (I’ve begun decreasing). Instead, I’ve decided to share with you some of the baby afghans and blankets that I’ve made over the past couple of years. The majority of them were made for Kaitlin (Dominic does have 2 crocheted and 1 ‘quilt’, but I don’t have any pictures of those), but I wanted to show you a few that I made for some other darling babies that have been welcomed into this world.



This afghan is just a basic granny square, but after each 10 rows, I would crochet a round of plain single crochet in purple yarn.


This scallop blankie got a lot of use. This was the only shot I had of Kait with it. Sorry for the quality; it was taken with my camera phone.


Crocheted log cabin. She still uses this one for her baby dolls.


Lots and lots of receiving blankets. She still uses these too. I’m in the process of making another set of nongender-specific ones for our next baby-to-be.

I crocheted this starghan for my brother’s daughter, when she was still in utero. This picture is very misleading. This blanket is actually very large. It can cover me generously. I really enjoyed crocheting this-it was a very quick project when I actually had time to work on it-and hope to make another for our baby-to-be.


I’ve blogged about this blanket before, but I just had to include it in this post. This was knitted for my friend’s baby, Cooper. This is the first afghan that I’ve ever knitted. The yarn is unbelievably soft (Yarn Bee Baby Bee from Hobby Lobby) and I’m so glad that I still have 2 1/2 skeins of it left.
535339213112_0_bg1
I made this for Steve’s brother’s baby, Nicci. I’m glad to see that it is getting some good use! You never know when you make something for someone else, if they are going to like it/use it or not (unless they specifically asked for it). I also have 3-4 skeins left of this yarn too. I will definitely be utilizing that yarn into another baby afghan in the future….the near future, hopefully. 🙂

4 Responses to “Finished Friday: Baby blankies”

  1. 1 Geertrude

    I love all of those afghans! I like what you did with the grannysquare. That one row of sc’s makes such a difference!
    The star blanket has been on my list for a long time. Yours is beautiful, I love those colors!

  2. all this baby-to-be stuff – do you know for sure or are you trying for another?

    i know, nosy me. *smile*

    i LOVE the star! that is awesome. i have a friend who just loves stars, and someday, when she lets me know that she is having a babe, i just may have to have you make one for me to send to her (i’d pay you of course). anyway – that is just so cool!

    and hurray! geertrude is back! *BIG smile*

  3. 3 justbeingkim

    I want blankets 🙂 We’ll both be preggers and make each others blankets….that would be awesome!

  4. I hope for Steve and Chris’ sake that the two of you are not pregnant at the same time. Only kidding!!! BTW Kris, I think I told you, but in case I forgot, Taylor grabs for that star blanket when I hold her in the rocking chair in her bedroom. It is draped over the back of the chair. She loves the colors. I am sure it is because they are so bright.


Leave a Reply

