Finished ‘Friday’: better late than never, right?

03Nov08

I had every intention of posting these on Friday; they are so fitting, being that they are the kids’ Halloween costumes. At any rate, time slipped away from me and I could feel myself slowly slipping into panic-mode. So, I decided that it wouldn’t be the end of the world if I didn’t post ‘on time.’ However, it did bug me…I was so proud of myself for posting every day.

Enough babbling, here are the kids’ costumes.

I started and finished this tutu Thursday night. I gave myself a blister from cutting all the strips of tulle. The wings were purchased from the gift shop at the Butterfly Garden (more on that later…tomorrow hopefully).

Dominic’s costume was less time-consuming, but more difficult.



The cloak was made out of an old tan flannel sheet that I had leftover from my massage therapist days. I had Dom lay on the floor, on top of the flannel sheet folded in half, and cut out around his body. I lined up his shoulders on the folds. The only sewing I did was to construct the cloak, itself. I did not turn in the raw edges. I was hoping it would add to the character. Besides, he was only going to wear it one night and I used pinking shears to cut it out, so I wasn’t worried about fraying. The cloak is going to be repurposed into cloth diapers and wipes when our next blessing comes along.

The only ‘in action’ shots that I got of the kids in there costumes are haphazard, at best. Once we got to the Fall Festival, they were too busy and excited to stay put long enough. A friend of mine got a shot of the 2 of them together. I’ll see if I can get her to email it to me.


I don’t remember taking this picture, but there it was on my camera. Dominic was inside the petting pin. This was the only shot I got of Dominic the entire night. His friend, Marq, joined him at the festival (along with Marq’s family), and he ran off with them.



Kaitlin in the jump castle. She spent at least half of the festival here.

And just because it cracks me up.

Kaitlin was too little to ride the train by herself and Steve was too tall to fit in the ‘car.’ Of course, he had to be ‘cheeky’ and take pictures.

3 Responses to “Finished ‘Friday’: better late than never, right?”

  1. I love that picture of you! I think its funny! The kids costumes look great!

    *whispers* I finished the fourth book….

  2. Those are great costumes. I love the way you photographed them too!

  3. yes, better late than never. and what lovely costumes!


Leave a Reply

