Well, it’s a start

15Oct08

Here is my first attempt at K’s pigtail hat. It didn’t turn out how I wanted, but I know where and what I need to change (at least I think I do) to get it to fit her the way I want.


Here are my issues:
1- The buttonholes are too high. I had to restyle her pigtails higher just to get them to fit in the hat. I normally put her pigtails on the sides of her head, just above her ears. Solution? More plain rows of knit before I start to decrease.
2- See how the top is all bumpy and sort of puckered? I don’t like that at all. I want the hat to lay flat on the top of her head. Solution?  Knit 1 or 2 rounds plain in between the decreases.
3- I don’t like the rolled brim. It didn’t turn out as cute as I hoped. Solution? I’m going to try a k1,p1 rib instead.

I was having a frazzled mommy moment Monday night. D had been home all day (Columbus Day = no school) and no matter how many times I sent him outside to burn some energy, he still seemed to bursting at the seams with it. It felt like I couldn’t get any housework done because I had to spend all of my time playing referee between D and K. After I’d put them to bed, I walked back into the living room to survey the damage. There were toys and clothes everywhere and the floor needed to be vacuumed. In the kitchen, dinner dishes were still on the stove and table, and they were starting to pile up in the sink as well. So, I did what any frazzled mommy would do: I cleaned the dishes off the stove and table, and retreated to the couch with this: 

Knitting, pumpkin ice cream, and Heroes saved me from frazzled mommy-ville. As I sat there and looked around at the mess I was “ignoring” guilt set in. Then, a little voice in my head said “leave it for tomorrow.” I don’t usually leave cleaning (especially dishes) for the morning, but I did this time.

I woke up the next morning feeling refreshed and the world didn’t meet its end just because I let the dishes wait.

2 Responses to “Well, it’s a start”

  1. Hey, Kait looks so different with that hat on from the front. It is cute though, and I think she likes it. The pipecleaners for Dom’s hat are on their way to you. Also, will be visiting Dennis tonight. Will give him your message. Just trying to think of a tactful way of doing that. ONLY 63 DAYS LEFT!!!

  2. the hat – i think it’s going to be adorable! the girl sure is (smile).

    4-inch squares of denim???? you crazy mommy!

    and about those frazzled days? i’m in the middle of one right now. i’m stopping to have a cup of tea – the kind that is supposed to boost one’s immune system – and i have to believe that it will. i’ve got to get through 2 more loads of laundry, one over-night house-guest tonight, packing for a long weekend, quilting like mad, and babysitting two little girls for the better part of the day tomorrow, all before we leave tomorrow evening – aaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!

    p.s. i am very much looking forward to the house-guest – i love her – you can read about her on one of the earliest of my blog posts – her name is elissa.


Leave a Reply

