We have an athlete in the family & other things on my mind

10Oct08

Dominic has fallen in love with soccer, and Mama couldn’t be happier.

He really likes to play defense/keeper.

And he has his very own cheerleader.


We got that cheerleading outfit along with 3 garbage bags full of hand-me-downs from a family who is dear to our hearts. I love receiving hand-me-downs! They’re already worn in and soft. Ever notice how stiff new clothes are? It takes about 5 washings for them to finally start to feel soft and silky. Maybe it’s just me.

In knitting news, I’m still plugging along on Kaitlin’s hat but it’s taking me longer to because I’m knitting on DPNs (double pointed needles for those who aren’t knit-savvy…mom ūüôā ) and this will be the first finished item on DPNs for me. I’m very excited. My children have been blessed with large noggins (in our house we call them melons), so I have to make their hats larger than normal to ensure that they fit. While I was working on Dominic’s, I was worried that it was going to be too big (I did hold it up to his head to measure, but obviously that wasn’t very accurate), and it fit perfectly. So, I’m going to knit Kait’s until I’m for certain that it’s too big, and then it will probably fit. Like that reasoning? haha. Kait’s hat has a rolled brim (the whole thing is knit in stockinette stitch…being it was my first time on DPNs, I didn’t want to get fancy with ribbing…but next time definitely), so if it’s too long, I’ll just roll the brim up more. Yea, I’ll go with that. I do need to finish this hat soon. Kait keeps trying to put it on, DPNs and all! haha.

I’m going to mimic soulemama¬†and take¬†the weekends off from blogging. Our weekend is going to be filled with a soccer game, a birthday party at the¬†Tree Park, a Mama outing with¬†some friends (called Hunt for the¬†Red Pumpkin…pictures¬†should follow, unless I get to wrapped up in everything), baking (pumpkin spice bars for the ‘after party’ for the Hunt for the Red Pumpkin), church, laundry (I’m actually looking forward to it. Don’ fall over, Mom. ha).¬† My strawberry plants are producing fruit, so hopefully I will be able to do some picking with the kiddos this weekend too.

I hope you all have a lovely weekend.

No Responses Yet to “We have an athlete in the family & other things on my mind”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

