hats & some Halloween rambling

08Oct08

In preparation for colder weather (here in Texas, we use the term “cold” lightly), I’ve started on the kids’ hats. They’ve outgrown their hats (well, Dom still fits his Pittsburgh Steelers hat, but he wants a green hat too), so it’s time for new ones. In the spirit of “why buy it when I can make it?” I’ve decided to knit the kids’ hats this year. Dominic’s hat will be a beanie with detachable Yoda ears (his Halloween costume of choice…double use, yay!), very straightforward and easy. Kaitlin’s hat, however, is going to be somewhat of a challenge for me.

Here’s the deal. Kaitlin likes to wear her hair in pigtails.
See?

But when you put a regular hat on her when she’s got her hair in pigtails, she’s got little bumps on either side of her head that make her look like an alien. Pretty cute, but wouldn’t it be cuter if her hat had little holes in it so her pigtails could escape? Yea, I think so too. So, I’ve decided to knit her a plain stockinette stitch ear flap hat with large buttonholes on each side for her pigtails to come through. Hopefully I can make it work. At any rate, she is very excited that Mama is making her a hat. I plan on finishing Dom’s hat before I start Kait’s (I’m trying to keep my # of WIPs managable), and I’m almost ready to decrease for his. For the ears, I’m planning to use the pattern for the felted baby Yoda hat as seen on Ravelry, but I’m not going to felt the ears. I’m trying to work only from stash this season (so no ‘real’ yarn spending until Easter), and I don’t have any green wool in my stash, so I’m going to use some green pipe cleaners to help the ears keep shape.

Speaking of the Yoda costume, I’m also planning on sewing him a simple robe from an old white sheet that I have. I don’t have any tan fabric, so I was thinking of dying the sheet with tea after I cut out the pieces that I need (no need to dye an entire sheet!). Has anyone done this? I’m typing this post before I go to work, so I don’t have time to Google it now. Any links or tips would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks!!

One Response to “hats & some Halloween rambling”

  1. The hat with pigtails sticking out sounds adorable. Show some pictures when you have made it!


Leave a Reply

