My dad turned 61 today

27Aug08

So, Speech class wasn’t as bad as I thought it was. I may regret those words later, but for now, I think the class will be okay, or rather I will be okay. The fact that I like all of my professors is comforting. I think my favorite professor is my Government Politics professor. He’s from Nigeria and has his PhD, in what I don’t know, but he has a great accent and I enjoy listening to him talk. My Accounting professor is quirky and reminds me of the old man from that old cartoon Gulliver’s Travels. He wears his glasses on the end of his nose and he’s partially bald. He also talks a lot with his hands…a lot. It’s amusing, for now. I have the suspicion that I might find it irritating later on in the semester.

I started dropping Dom off at school instead of walking him to his class. This is hard for me, but I’m trying to give him more independence and responsibility. Besides, he gets a big kick out of it.

I’ve almost finished the brontosaurus. I have all of the pieces knitted and I have assembled (and stuffed) the head and body (I’ve also attached the head to the body). So all I have left to do is seam, stuff, and attach the legs to the body. I’m planning on doing that this evening and then finishing Kait’s hippo. I should be able to get her hippo done tonight as well. I just need to stuff, embroider the face (which went surprisingly well with the bronto), and assemble it. The hippo is smaller than the brontosaurus, so I’m guessing it will take me less time.

I have this side project that I’ve been working on for a while now. I’ve mentioned it before: I’m dying to have another baby, and so I’ve been also doing baby-related crafts. I am ashamed to say that I haven’t touched the soakers that I was working on before. Two of the soakers still need leg cuffs, but the pattern calls for working them on dpn’s and I really don’t like working with dpn’s. I know that I’m never going to get comfortable with them if I don’t practice, but still, I don’t like them. I prefer to knit flat and then seam, so I’ve been toying with the idea of knitting a piece of ribbing (2×2 aka k2p2), then seaming it to make it a tube and then attaching it to the leg openings. Now that I’ve put that into words, it seems like a pretty good idea. Yea, I think I’m going to try that out. I’ll blog about the outcome later. ūüôā

Back to the whole baby-related crafting, I came across some of my daughter’s unisex receiving blankets (not the ones I mentioned reconning in my last post) and have been crocheting edgings on them. The seams were starting to look a little frazzled (they were commericially serged), so I decided to crochet the edges to reinforce them…plus it makes them look adorable. Four of them are Classic Pooh and I’ve used either off-white or sage green size 10 crochet cotton thread on them; I have finished 2 of the 4. I’m currently working on a white blanket that has little yellow duckies and green frogs on it, and I am using yellow size 10 crochet cotton thread on it (I’m using a size 9 [1.40mm] hook). I’m about halfway finished with the duckie blanket and then I’m going to tackle the other 2 Pooh ones. I like to save these for when I need a portable project. When I’m working on the stuffies, it’s more difficult to travel with them (ie: to work or to school…I like to knit/crochet in between classes) especially when I get to the assembly phase and need stuffing.

I never did get to make my shoulder pad for my messenger bag; I will though. I already have the perfect fabric picked out and I’m going to use some old washcloths to pad it (I’m trying to work only from my stash and use things around the¬†house).

Some other things floating around in my head:
-I really want to make a scrap quilt some day. I need to find a place to store all of my fabric scraps (including those from clothing).
-I want to work more on sewing the cloth diapers & wipes in preparation for the baby I will have some day.
-I need to sew myself some cloth¬†pads and cloth nursing pads, which will probably be made from the scraps of receiving blankets after I make Kait’s bibs. I think I need to make her anywhere from 5-10 bibs. I’m not against reusing a bib for more than one meal in a day, so maybe 7? Yea, that sounds about right. The receiving blankets that I plan on using are very girly with polka dots and tie-dye butterflies, just to name a couple. One of my favorite blankets is a bright pink one with little lambs and clouds on it. Too cute.
-Music to¬†download: LeAnn Rimes,¬†Keith Urban, Miley Cyrus, Allison Krauss, Trisha Yearwood, Faith Hill, Natalie Grant. I just realized that the majority of those artists are “country” yet I really don’t care for country music. Weird.

No Responses Yet to “My dad turned 61 today”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

